

MARTIN LIBRARY HONORS

Honoring Victoria Connor

Victoria A. Connor has served as the CEO of the York County Bar Association, and its charitable arm, the York County Bar Foundation since 2011. During her tenure, the Bar Foundation has become York's largest private funder of law-related programs connected to supporting the courts and addressing the needs of the community's most vulnerable citizens whose lives intersect with the justice system.



Victoria's love of libraries began as a child when her teachers would read books during story time. Students would then have a chance to go the school's library where she always hit the checkout limit. Later, visits to the local public library became a favorite pastime with her children. With many programs, media resources, clubs and events, libraries have always been more than just books.

Victoria was a member of Performing Arts for Children which raised funds for its "Page to Stage" program to cover the cost of children's books and tickets for a live theatre show on the stage at the Strand-Capitol – now the Appell Center. Students who never experienced the magic of live theatre bringing a book to life had the opportunity to see the performance at no charge. Most recently, she has been instrumental in establishing a Reading Ready Corner at the judicial center in conjunction with the United Way and having the artwork of the winner of the Bar's elementary/middle school Law Day bookmark design contest printed on bookmarks that are distributed free throughout York County Libraries.

Victoria is involved in many national, state, and local professional and civic organizations. In 2020, she received four significant honors in recognition of her leadership and community service: named a Circle of Excellence honoree among the Women of Influence by the Central Penn Business Journal, received the Athena International Leadership Award from the York County Economic Alliance, the Arthur J. Birdsall Award from the Pennsylvania County Conference of Bar Leaders, and the Distinguished Citizenship Award from the B.P.O.E. Lodge 213. Victoria was named a York Federal Fellow in 2014, Grand Marshal of the York Saint Patrick Day Parade in 2015, and Grand Marshal of the York Halloween Parade in 2011.

Victoria resides in York with her husband, Mike. They are the proud parents of daughter, Brittany, and son, Michael.

MARTIN LIBRARY HONORS

Today's program is moderated by Lori-Rene Weyant

HONORS TRIVIA: ROUND 1

WELCOME Robert F. Lambert

OPENING REMARKS Robert Cox

HONORS TRIVIA: ROUND 2

TRIBUTES TO Mike Kochenour

VICTORIA CONNOR Judge John C. Uhler

Brittany and Michael Connor

HONOREE REMARKS Victoria Connor

CLOSING REMARKS Robert F. Lambert

FAVORITE BOOKS

The Giving Tree by Shel Silvertein

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch & Jeffrey Zaslow

Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene

Favorite Authors Include:

Maya Angelou, Judy Blume, Ann Brashares, Dan Brown, Beverly Cleary, Patricia Cornwell, Eric Carle, Lewis Carroll, Mary Higgins Clark, Mary Jane Davidson, Franklin W. Dixon, Janet Evanovich, Sue Grafton, John Grisham, Judith Krantz, Toni Morrison, J.K. Rowling, Maurice Sendak, Dr. Seuss, Danielle Steele, E.B. White

PREVIOUS HONOREES

Lynda Randall, 2021

Tom & Cindy Donley, 2021

Bill Shipley, 2020

Georg Sheets, 2019

Paula Gilbert, 2019

C. Kim Bracey, 2018

Jean Treuthart & Stephen Baker 2018

Jody Keller, 2017

Michael E. Kochenour, 2017

William H. Schell, 2016

Larry J. Miller, 2015

Gordon A. Freireich, 2015

George Trout Sr., 2014

Trish Calvani, 2013

Bill Simpson Memorial, 2013

Loren H. Kroh. 2012

Dan and Brenda Elby, 2012

Harvey & Win Bradley, 2011

The Presidents of the Board

since 1935, 2010

Donald Dellinger, Jr., 2010

Judge Emanuel Cassimatis, 2009

Frances E. Keller. 2008

Luther and Ruth Sowers, 2008

Lynne Pfafflin Danyo, 2007

George D. Stough, 2007

Zoë Meisenhelder, 2006

Lavere Senft, 2005

Dorrie Leader, 2004

Mary G. Stephenson, 2003

William A. Falkler, 2003

Edith Allen Barber, 2002

Ruthe Fortenbaugh Craley, 2002

Walt Partymiller, 2001

R. Claire Frank. 2000

Elaine Kirschner Laucks. 1999

C. William Dize, 1998

Helen Klinedinst, 1998

William H. Kain, 1997

Otis B. Morse IV, 1997

Anna Kauffman Strayer, 1997

May M. Hart, 1997

Jennifer Paup, 1995

HONORS COMMITTEE

Robert Cox, Chair Brenda Elby Lynne Danyo Liz Dellinger Anika Jackson Robert F. Lambert Donna Pullo Rebecca Sanstead Lori Rene Weyant